Mississippi School of the Arts Foundation (MSAF)

In the spring of 1999, the Legislature appropriated funds to create the Mississippi School of the Arts (MSA) — a residential high school for gifted and talented eleventh and twelfth graders — on the historic Whitworth College Campus in Brookhaven.

The Mississippi School of the Arts provides options for gifted and talented students across the state whose home schools have not had the resources to offer advanced levels of study in dance, music, theatre, visual arts, literary arts, and media arts. With the opportunity to renovate the Whitworth College Campus that is on the National Register of Historic Places, Mississippi can now honor the historical and cultural legacy of the school and provide a promising future for new generations of young artists who can continue the proud tradition of the arts within the state.

In order to realize the vision for this school, both public and private resources are necessary. Considering the challenge of current revenue shortfalls, the Legislative Budget Committee continues to emphasize that substantial private funding will be necessary to ensure additional future appropriations for the school. The Mississippi School of the Arts Foundation, Inc., a 501(c)(3) organization, was created to engage partners in providing support for the school.

Each gift to the Mississippi School of the Arts Foundation (MSAF) helps to ensure that our students have access to the resources that provide them with the best education possible. By choosing to give to education, you give one of life’s most enduring gifts.

Foundation Board Members

  • Bill Sones
  • Amy Jacobs
  • Robert Tyler
  • Lu Becker
  • Kenny Goza
  • Isabel Smith
  • Jere Johnson Clark
  • Danita Hobbs
  • Dr. Lucious “Luke” Lampton
  • Patti Perkins
  • Stan Foster
  • Roberto Bonilla
  • Robin Tyler Faust